Planning Commission - Zoning Board of Appeals

The Planning Commission - Zoning Board of Appeals is responsible for:

  • Originating, preparing and recommending to City Council a comprehensive plan as a guide for the future physical and social development within 1 1/2 miles of City limits
  • Reviewing and making recommendations on social problems in the community,the Capital Improvements Program as it relates to the Comprehensive Plan and proposed subdivisions
  • Promoting the Comprehensive Plan
  • Recommending to the Council amendment changes, supplements or repeals to the zoning ordinance and other matters related to development in Carbondale


  • 9 members appointed by the Mayor with the consent of the Council
  • 1 City Council member serving as ex-officio


  • 4-year terms
  • 2/3 of all members must reside within city limits or 1 1/2 miles of city limits

Members of the Planning Commission are:

Jessica Bradshaw (Ex-Officio)
Sandy Litecky (Chair)
George Sheffer (1st Vice Chair)

Randy Burnside (2nd Vice Chair)
William Hamilton
Beau Henson
Jim LeBeau
Janet Lilly
LaRue Love
Grant Miller


Show Menu
Hide Menu