News Flash


Posted on: December 6, 2018

Nominations Needed for 2019 Spirit of Dr. King Community Service Award

MLK Award


CARBONDALE – The MLK Planning Committee is accepting nominations for the Spirit of the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Community Service Award.

The award recognizes an individual or group that exemplifies the character and legacy of Dr. King. Nominees should have enacted or modeled a spirit of community service in the manner of Dr. King. If you are nominating a group, include both the group name and contact information (name and phone number). Up to four letters of reference may be submitted. 

Previous honorees include Pepper Holder, Senator Paul Simon, Linda Flowers, Milton and Corene McDaniel, Seymour Bryson, Lillian Adams, Mary O'Hara, Marjorie Parker, Hugh Muldoon, Donna Haynes, Margaret Nesbitt, Genevieve Houghton, Rev. Rick Jackson, Rev. Doug Cherry and John Cherry, Mary Sasse, Rev. Bill Sasso and Richard Hayes, Anne Marie Shepherd, Pastor Sonja Ingrebritsen, Dr. Ella Lacey and Father Joseph Brown. 

Nominations must be postmarked by December 15 or received by email by that date. Nominations can be emailed to Pastor Swims or mailed to: 

MLK Award Committee 

Attention: Pastor Swims

400 E. Main Street

Carbondale, IL 62901

The award will be presented at the 20th Annual Dr. King Community Celebration at the Carbondale Civic Center on Sunday, January 20 at 4 p.m. 

“Carbondale prides itself on providing its visitors, students, businesses and residents with a unique mix of edge and ease. It’s a cultural town, yet free of pretense, embracing the great outdoors as readily as urban sophistication. Here, we are open to new ideas, experiences and cultures, so you are encouraged to both express yourself and be yourself, in all ways. That’s Carbondale…All Ways Open… for family, fun, business, new ideas and a bright tomorrow.”


Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Home